Profile and Committee

© Zonta International

The Fellowship

Status: January 2024

The Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowship was established in 1938 in honour of Amelia Earhart, famed pilot and Zonta club member.

Zonta International District 29

The Amelia Earhart Fellowships are awarded annually to 30 women pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree in aerospace engineering and space sciences. The Fellowship of USD10,000 may be used at any university or college offering accredited post-graduate courses and degrees.

Who is Eligible?

  • Women of any nationality pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree who demonstrate a superior academic record conducting research applied to aerospace engineering or space sciences are eligible.
  • Students must be registered in a full-time Ph.D./doctoral program and completed at least one year of that program or have received a master’s degree in an aerospace-applied field at the time the application is submitted.
  • Applicants must not graduate before April the following year after having filed the application. 

Please note:

  • Post-doctoral research programs are not eligible for the Fellowship.
  • Members and employees of Zonta International or the Zonta International Foundation are also not eligible to apply for the Fellowship.
  • Note that previous Amelia Earhart fellows are not eligible to apply to renew the Fellowship for a second year.

Application Process

The Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowship Committee reviews the applications and recommends recipients to the Zonta International Board.

  • All applicants are evaluated on the criteria stated in the requirements section of the application.
  • All details of the evaluations are kept confidential; evaluations are not disclosed to applicants.
  • All applicants will be notified of their status by the end of April the year after the application has been filed.

How Do I Apply?

Applications are made online on the Zonta International website. Applicants may apply for the Amelia Earhart Fellowships here...

Deadline for applications is 15th November each year.

2023 District 29 winners

Read more about the Amelia Earhart Fellowship recipients | PDF will follow soon

2023/24 | Amelia Erhart Fellowship Celebrations ..

... in London | Area 03

In 2023 United Kingdom had three new fellows:

  • Charlotte Bays, United Kingdom, Royal Holloway, University of London, Astromaterials and Planetary Science
  • Andrea Nóvoa, Spain, University of Cambridge Engineering
  • Alicia Torres Gomez, Spain, University of Cambridge Aeronautical and Aerothermal Engineering

London Celebration of 2023 Amelia Earhart Fellows

Zonta International District 29

The year started well in London with the celebration of three new Amelia Earhart Fellows and they were joined as always by many Zontians, five former fellows, family members and guests.The event took place in the Mandeville Hotel in central London on January 12, 2024.

The fellows Alicia Torres Gomez from University of Cambridge, Andrea Nóvoa also from University of Cambridge and Charlotte Bays from Royal Holloway London spoke with enthusiasm about their work and how grateful they are to Zonta International for making a difference to their career both financially and by reputation.

Britt Gustawsson was assisted by fellows Camille Bilger (2015-16) and Sireetorn Kuharat (2019-2020), both members of the London club at the pin ceremony.

Click here to read and listen more about our previous Amelia Earhart District 29 winners

ZAC | Zonta Alumnae Connected

Nominees for all Zonta Awards and Scholarships are invited to join ZAC (Zonta Awardees Connected) - an inspiring worldwide network what meets on a regular basis. Our network is growing! So - receiving the Amelia Earhart  Fellowship means to hold a ticket to all the Zonta alumnae in your hands and also one to the worldwide network of Zonta.

Find out more about ZAC here...

The District 29 Amelia Earhart Fellowship Committee

Zonta International District 29Chair: Alina Agüero Bruna |  ZC Madrid, Spain | Area 01


If you have any questions, please contact Alina Agüero:


  • Sigrun Christiansen, ZC Paris, France | Area 01
  • Inés Usandizaga, AE fellow, Germany
  • Britt Gustawsson, past chair, ZC London, UK | Area 03
  • Rosemarijn de Groot,  ZC Aan de Leede, NL | Area 04

Zonta International District 29

Zonta International District 29Zonta International District 29